Start Planning
Ascension

Ascension 2019 et 2020

Le peuple luxembourgeois observe le jour de l’ascension trente neuf (39) jours après le dimanche de Pâques pour commémorer l’ascension de Jésus-Christ au ciel. La date réelle des vacances change d’année en année mais, se produit généralement en mai et tombe généralement un jeudi.

AnDateJournéeJour férié
201930 maijeudiAscension
202021 maijeudiAscension

Au cours de la période des quarante (40) jours avant la montée de Jésus au ciel, on croit qu’il est apparu et a prêché à ses apôtres et disciples. Selon la tradition, cette fête est née en 68 après JC; Cependant, elle n’a pas été écrite avant la première fête de l’Ascension, qui a eu lieu en 385 après JC.

Selon les méthodes de calcul de la date de Pâques utilisée par le christianisme occidental, la première date potentielle pour célébrer l’ascension est généralement le 30 avril, la dernière date potentielle quant à elle étant le 3 juin. Aujourd’hui, ce sont surtout les catholiques qui observent activement l’ascension au Luxembourg. De nombreuses églises offrent des services spéciaux ce jour-là.

Au Luxembourg, l’obervation de plusieurs symboles illustre l’ascension du Christ au ciel. Dans de nombreux cas, l’on peut appercevoir l’image de Jésus chasser un «diable» dans les rues, ou le trempant dans un étang, ou même le brûlant en effigie. C’est symbolique du triomphe du Messie sur le diable quand il a ouvert le ciel à tous ceux qui croyaient.

Le dixième jour suivant l’ascension est Pentecôte ou mieu la Pentecôte. Cela commémore l’arrivée de l’esprit saint aux disciples de Jésus. La Pentecôte marque la fin du cycle de Pâques selon le calendrier chrétien.

Accept

Start Planning
Ascension Day

Ascension Day 2019 and 2020

The people of Luxembourg observe Ascension Day 39 days after Easter Sunday to commemorate the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven. The actual date of the holiday changes from year to year, but typically occurs in May and always falls on a Thursday in Luxembourg.

Year Date Day Holiday
2019 30 May Thu Ascension Day
2020 21 May Thu Ascension Day

During the 40-day period prior to Jesus ascending to heaven, it is believed that he appeared and preached to his apostles and disciples. According to tradition, this holiday originated in 68 AD; however, it was not written about until the first Ascension Day feast occurred, which took place in 385 AD.

According to the methods of calculating the date of Easter used by Western Christianity, the earliest potential date for Ascension Day to occur is 30 April, with the latest potential date being 3 June. Today, it’s mostly Catholics who actively observe Ascension Day in Luxembourg. Many churches offer special services on this day.

There are many symbols seen on Ascension Day in Luxembourg, which symbolise Christ’s arrival in heaven. In many cases, you see Jesus’s image chasing a “devil” in the streets, or dunking it into a pond, or even burning it in effigy. This is symbolic of the triumph of the Messiah over the devil when he opened heaven to all who believed.

Since Ascension Day always occurs on a Thursday, many people who observe this holiday make the occasion a long weekend.

Ten days after Ascension Day is Whitsuntide or Pentecost. This commemorates the arrival of the Holy Spirit to Jesus’s disciples. Pentecost marks the end of the Easter cycle according to the Christian calendar.