Start Planning
Luxemburg

Feiertage Luxemburg

Entdecken Sie die bevorstehenden Feiertage für Luxemburg und planen Sie, Ihre Freizeit optimal zu nutzen.

Wenn ein gesetzlicher Feiertag auf den normalen freien Tag eines Arbeitnehmers fällt, steht diesem Arbeitnehmer zum Ausgleich ein anderer bezahlter freier Tag zu, der innerhalb von drei Monaten genommen werden muss. Mit Erlaubnis des Arbeitgebers ist es abhängig Beschäftigten in Luxemburg möglich einen lokalen oder geschäftlichen Feiertag anstelle eines gesetzlichen Feiertags zu feiern. Das Gesetz sieht lediglich vor, dass jedem Arbeitnehmer 10 bezahlte Feiertage im Jahr zustehen.

Arbeitnehmern, insbesondere Beschäftigten im Finanz- und Bankenbereich, kann ein zusätzlicher freier Tag zustehen, wenn die Bank geschlossen bleibt, wie beispielsweise Karfreitag. Diese zusätzlichen freien Tage sind normalerweise im Arbeitsvertrag oder in Tarifverträgen geregelt.

Nach dem Arbeitsrecht haben Angestellte im Bankensektor Anspruch auf einen Ersatzfeiertag, wenn ein gesetzlicher Feiertag auf ein Wochenende fällt. Manche Banken offerieren eine Gehaltsprämie, die dann im Arbeitsvertrag geregelt ist.

Wenn ein Arbeitnehmer an einem gesetzlichen Feiertag arbeiten muss, muss vom Arbeitgeber zum Ausgleich eine zusätzliche Prämie gezahlt werden. Die Höhe dieser Prämie variiert, je nach dem Wochentag, an dem der Arbeitnehmer arbeiten muss und der regulär bestehenden Arbeitszeit. Fällt der gesetzliche Feiertag auf einen normalen Wochentag, haben Arbeitnehmer, die an diesem Tag arbeiten müssen, Anspruch auf ihr normales Entgelt plus 100 Prozent Prämie für jede Arbeitsstunde und einen zusätzlichen freien Tag. Gehaltsprämien, die für Arbeit an gesetzlichen Feiertagen gezahlt werden, sind steuerfrei.

Wenn die Arbeitsstunden an einem gesetzlichen Feiertag gleichzeitig Überstunden sind, haben Arbeitnehmer einen gesonderten Anspruch auf 40 Prozent Ausgleichsprämie oder Extrafreizeit, die mit 1,5 Stunden für jede Überstunde berechnet wird. Wenn der gesetzliche Feiertag auf einen Sonntag fällt, haben Arbeitnehmer, die arbeiten müssen, einen Anspruch auf zusätzliche 70 Prozent Prämie für die Sonntagsarbeit und einen zusätzlichen freien Tag.

Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Luxembourg
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Luxembourg itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

DateDayHoliday
1 JanSunNew Year's Day
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
25 MayThuAscension Day
5 JunMonWhit Monday
23 JunFriNational Day
15 AugTueAssumption Day
1 NovWedAll Saints' Day
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

If a public holiday falls on an employee’s normal day off, the employee is allowed a compensatory paid day of leave, which must be used within three months of the holiday. With permission from an employer, salaried workers in Luxembourg are permitted to celebrate a local or business holiday in lieu of an official public holiday. The law simply provides that every employee shall receive 10 paid holidays per year.

Salaried workers, especially in the financial and banking sectors may be granted additional holidays during bank closures, such as Good Friday. These additional holidays are generally set forth in an employment contract or collective bargaining agreement.

According to the Labour Code, if a public holiday falls on a weekend, employees in the banking industry are entitled to a compensatory day off. Some banks offer a salary premium, depending on the terms set forth in an employment agreement.

If an employee is required to work on a public holiday, additional compensation, known as a premium must be paid by the employer. The amount of the premium varies, depending on the day of the week the employee is required to work and the established regular work schedule. If an employee works on a public holiday on a normal work day, he or she is entitled to regular wages, a 100 percent premium for each hour worked and an extra day of leave. Salary premiums paid for work performed on public holidays are tax-exempt.

If hours on a public holiday are categorized as overtime, an employee is entitled to an extra premium of 40 percent or compensatory rest, calculated at 1.5 hours for each hour of overtime work performed. If a public holiday falls on a Sunday, an employee who works on that day is entitled to the normal hourly wage, a 100 percent premium for each hour, an additional 70 percent premium for Sunday work and an extra day of paid leave.